Breaking Stereotype Poem “Masks”

Masks

It was the first time

That I was aware of my mask

It fit perfectly

Making it unable for me

To tell where it ended

Making it unable for me

To tell where I started.

They’d squeezed me in a pink dress

That didn’t fit.

They put me into high heels

That were to small.

They gave me dolls to play with

That I didn’t like.

They told me stories

That were lies.

You said I’m fragile

Guess all that I do is cry

But I’ve walked a thousand mile

And I’ll never stop to try

And to be a female smelled like fear,

And to be a female felt like insecurity,

And to be a female sounded like gossip in the kitchen.

The history of gloomy past

When I was worthless

But this history won’t last

Because I am fearless

I’m  trying to be strong and not to dominate

Only equality so that I can keep it balance

Not in a dreamy and inane abstraction

Just need to open my mask for a female’s mission

A collaborative piece by Josefina and Tessalonika

Leave a Reply

